Which states offer free GED testing?

Four states offer free GED or HiSET testing: New York, West Virginia, Connecticut, and Maine. 

In these states, GED or HiSET testing is fully subsidized for state residents, so testing is free.

More and more states offer FREE GED or HiSET testing to first-time testers or have some other free option.  

  • New York is using the GED test 
  • Maine uses the HiSET exam
  • Connecticut uses the GED exam, but there is a modest administration fee.
  • West Virginia uses the HiSET exam 
  • Massachusetts offers free GED and HiSET tests
  • Texas uses the GED test
  • New Mexico uses the GED test
  • Illinois offers the GED and HiSET exams 
  • Missouri uses the GED and HiSET exam
  • Minnesota uses the GED test
  • Kentucky is using the GED test 
  • Alaska offers the GED test
  • Nebraska uses the GED test

Then, there are two states and Washington DC that are partly subsidizing the GED exam: 

  • Arkansas offers GED testing for $16 ($4 per subtest) 
  • Maryland offers GED testing for $45 (all four modules, so $11.25 per subtest) for 1st-time testers
  • Washington, DC, offers GED testing for $15 (for the entire GED test, so $3.75 per module) 
  • Recently, Texas and New Mexico also joined the states that offer their HSE (High School Equivalency exam) for free. These states introduced a voucher program that allows eligible test-takers to take the exam at no cost.

Onsego provides online GED classes. We are not involved in GED testing or issuing diplomas.

Disclaimer: Providing a premium online GED prep experience is Onsego's goal. The content shared here is intended to guide you. For the latest and most precise details, turning to official sources is recommended.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us